Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 26 - 50 of 203

Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2006.74
Scope and Contents

1918 Ledger of Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen for Cockade City, Lodge No. 905, Petersburg, VA. Printed volume with hand-printed completions.

Dates: 1918
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Anthony Buck Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame C2 Oversize
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1807-1814, of Anthony Buck, commission merchant, Fredericksburg, Va.

Dates: 1807-1814
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Buckingham County, Va. Merchant's Ledger, II

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame52u
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1883-1885, of an unidentified merchant in Buckingham County, Va.

Dates: 1883-1885
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Buckingham County, Va. Merchant's Ledger, I

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame48u Oversize
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1880-1882, of an unidentified merchant, of [Buckingham County, Va.]

Dates: 1880-1882
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

William Tandy Burrus Ledger

 Collection — Box: 1, Bound Volume: 1
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.131
Scope and Contents Based on information gathered by Special Collections staff in 2011, there appear to be three possible creators of the ledger: William Tandy Burrus (1766 or 1776-1831), WTB (?-prior to 1836?), or William Stevens (1773-1843).The ledger (200 pp., 15 pages are missing in the front, several pages are missing in back, and several halves of pages are missing) records transactions for miscellaneous merchandise, wheat and tobacco. The contra page shows payments were mostly made in cash,...
Dates: 1801-1895
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

C. C. Driver and Co. Ledger, I

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame23 Oversize
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1910-1912, of C. C. Driver and Co., merchants.

Dates: 1910-1912
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

C. C. Driver and Co. Ledger, II

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame25 Oversize
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1913-1914, of C. C. Driver and Co.

Dates: 1913-1914
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

C. L. Leake and Company Account Books

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad113-MsV Ad119
Scope and Contents

Ledgers, bankbooks, and account books, 1882-1900, of C. L. Leake and Company, Licking, Goochland County, Va. The company appears to have included a sawmill and flourmill.

Dates: 1882-1900
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

John A. Cave Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00671
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of a ledger that once belonged to John A Cave, a Blacksmith in Page County, Virginia. The entries primarily deal with Cave's accounts with Joshua Buracker from 1858 through 1861. Some of the items listed include shoes, shovels, and nails.

Dates: 1858-1867
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Chappelear Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C38
Scope and Contents Papers, 1876-1959, of Benjamin Curtis Chappelear including manuscript and printed maps of Fauquier, Loudoun, Clarke, and Warren counties, Va.; Virginia state maps; United States Department of the Interior Geological Survey Maps of areas in Virginia and West Virginia; notes concerning land records and manuscript volumes which include account books collected by Chappelear of blacksmiths, farmers, postmasters, students, tanners, and operators of general stores. The collection also includes...
Dates: 1788-1959
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Charles Town W. Va. Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame6u
Scope and Contents

Account book, 1801-1803, which is a ledger and journal of an unidentified merchant at Charles Town, Virginia [W. Va.]

Dates: 1801-1803
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Cooke & Eustace Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame17
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1815-1818, of Cooke & Eustace, merchants, Aquia [Stafford County], Va. which includes bonds, 1821-1824.

Dates: 1815-1818
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

John H. A. Cooper Store Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.12
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1906-1927, kept at Star Tannery, Va. (Frederick County, Va.) by John H. A. Cooper. The ledger is #3. The store sold Pratts Stock and Poultry Feed. Included with the ledger are some loose letters, and advertisements.

Dates: 1906-1927
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Corie Lynn Dorset Rivers Collection of Ludwell-Lee-Slater Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00298
Scope and Contents The family papers of Corie Lynn Dorset Rivers include over 140 separate letters and other manuscript documents handed down to Rivers by her mother, Corie Lynn Slater Dorset. This collection includes papers written by several generation of Williamsburg, Virginia residents, including Lucy Ludwell Paradise; James and Louisa Bellett Lee and family; and Virginia Lee and Parkes Slater and family.Series One consists of the oldest item in this collection, a ledger or commonplace book...
Dates: 1805 - 1886
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

B. R. Cowherd Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame18
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1905, of B. R. Cowherd, merchant, of Pemberton, Goochland County, Virginiaa.

Dates: 1905
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Culpeper County (Va.) Merchant's Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame21u Oversize
Scope and Contents

Account book of an unknown merchant in the vicinity of Culpeper County, Virginia.

Dates: 1847-1851
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Cumberland County, Va. Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame127
Scope and Contents

Account book of an unknown merchant in the Cumberland County area of Virginia.  Some names appear to be from Fluvanna and Albemarle Counties.

Dates: 1891-1892
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Ellyson Currie Ledgers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Al2-3
Scope and Contents

Ledgers, 1799-1808 and 1805-1818, of Ellyson Currie, a lawyer in Lancaster County, Va. The ledger for 1799-1808 has a partial index.

Dates: 1799-1818
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Jacob S. Danner Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad48
Scope and Contents

Account book of Jacob S. Danner, a merchant in Frederick County, Virginia. Index at beginning of ledger.

Dates: 1854-1882
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Abraham Davenport Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad46
Scope and Contents

Merchant ledger of Abraham Davenport of Jefferson County, and possibly Berkeley County, Virginia, now West Virginia.  Contains account of the estate of Abram Davenport with Braxton Davenport, executor, 1825-1833, and several recipes.

Dates: 1804-1833
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Davenport & Willett Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame21
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1805-1809, of Davenport & Willett, merchants, of Berkeley County, Va. [W. Va.]

Dates: 1805-1809
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Daybook and General Account Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01792
Dates: 1873-1888
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Gustavus Depp Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.372
Scope and Contents Papers, circa 1810s-1830s, of Gustavus Depp and Elmore Depp of Powhatan and Chesterfield Counties, Virginia. The collection includes two commonplace books and two ledgers.  The commonplace books are both collections of different principles and rules of higher mathematics including geometry, trigonometry, calculating interest, among others.  The commonplace book belonging to Gustavus Depp focuses much more heavily on geometry than the one owned by Elmore Depp.  Both books contain inscriptions...
Dates: 1818-1848
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Diggs Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.44
Scope and Contents

Business and family papers of the Charles R. and Charles E. Diggs family of Mathews, Virginia and Susan, Virginia.  The Diggs Family owed an automobile engine business.  In 1921, it was named "Overland and Willys Knight Automobiles Mianus Engines, " but had other names through the years.  The family also sold seafood products. Charles Robert Diggs worked in various automotive and machine shops in the area after 1920's.

Dates: 1914-1960; Majority of material found in 1920-1940
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Distiller's Ledger and Merchant's Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Adi2
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1799-1812, of an unidentified distiller, of Albemarle County, Virginia. Includes ledger, 1779-1786, of an unidentified merchant who had an account with Thomas Jefferson.

The two individuals who kept the volume each numbered the pages (127 p. and 224 p.)

Dates: 1779-1812
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Ledgers (Accounting) X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Account books 137
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 30
Accounts 13
Merchants--United States--History--19th century 13
Augusta County (Va.)--History--19th century 11
∨ more
Grain--Milling 11
Rockingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 11
Medicine--Practice--Virginia 9
Fauquier County (Va.)--History--19th century 8
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 8
Letters (correspondence) 8
Merchants--Virginia--19th century 8
Correspondence 7
Daybooks 7
Journals (accounts) 7
Merchants--Virginia--Rockingham County 7
Minutes 7
Receipts (financial records) 7
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 7
Financial records 6
General stores--Virginia 6
Merchants--Virginia--Fauquier County 6
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 6
Diaries 5
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 5
Merchants--Virginia--Augusta County 5
Merchants--Virginia--History--18th century 5
Merchants--Virginia--Williamsburg 5
Photographs 5
Schools--Virginia 5
Scrapbooks 5
African Americans--Virginia--History--19th century 4
Berkeley County (W.Va.)--History--19th century 4
Buckingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Farms--Virginia--History--19th century 4
Fluvanna County (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Grain--Milling--Virginia 4
Leather industry and trade--Virginia 4
Legal documents 4
Lexington (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Medical practice--Virginia--History 4
Merchants--History--18th century 4
Merchants--Virginia--Buckingham County 4
Merchants--Virginia--History--20th century 4
Merchants--West Virginia--Jefferson County 4
Rockbridge County (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Shenandoah County (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Agriculture--Virginia--History--19th century 3
Bible records 3
Blacksmithing--Virginia 3
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 3
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 3
Frederick County (Md.)--History--19th century 3
Goochland County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Louisa County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Lumber trade--Virginia--History 3
Madison County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Medicine--Formulae, receipts, prescriptions 3
Medicine--Practice--United States 3
Medicine--Virginia--History--19th century 3
Merchants--Virginia--Fluvanna County 3
Merchants--Virginia--Frederick County 3
Page County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Payroll records 3
Printed ephemera 3
Reports 3
Shenandoah County (Va.)--History 3
Sussex County (Va.)--History 3
Tanners 3
Textile industry--United States--History--19th century 3
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Virginia--Genealogy 3
Wythe County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Advertising cards 2
Agendas (administrative records) 2
Agriculture--Virginia--History 2
Albemarle County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Augusta County (Va.)--History 2
Berkeley County (W.Va.)--History 2
Blacksmithing--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Blacksmiths--1860-1870 2
Business records 2
Carpentry--United States--History--19th century 2
Commonplace books 2
Culpeper County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 2
Education--Virginia--History 2
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Farms--United States 2
Farms--Virginia--Gloucester County 2
Fauquier County (Va.)--History 2
Frederick County (Va.)--History 2
Genealogies 2
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 2
Goochland County (Va.)--History 2
Halifax County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Harrisonburg (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Henrico County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Inventories 2
+ ∧ less
 
Language
German 3
Spanish; Castilian 1
 
Names
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 4
Currie, Ellyson 2
Development Office--Endowment Association 2
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 2
A.B. Smith General Store 1
∨ more
Bell Hospital (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Bell, Baxter I. (Dr.) 1
Belt, John Benjamin 1
Blanks, James M. and Company 1
Booton's Tan Yard 1
Braikenridge, George, 1737-1827 1
Brimmer, Martin, 1742-1804 1
Buchanan, James, 1791-1868 1
Burrus, William Tandy, 1776-1831 1
Case, John A. 1
College of William and Mary. College Development 1
College of William and Mary. Endowment Association. 1
College of William and Mary. Office of Director of Development 1
College of William and Mary. Office of Grants and Research Administration 1
College of William and Mary. Office of University Development 1
Collins, Grace Shipley 1
D. & H. Forrer. Shenandoah Iron Works 1
Davenport family 1
Depp, Elmore 1
Depp, Gustavus 1
Donald & Burton, London, Eng 1
Dyer, Edward C. 1
Easterday family 1
Eastern Lunatic Asylum (Va.) 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 1
Erb family 1
Farwell's Mills (Androscoggin Co., Me.) 1
Fund for William and Mary 1
Goodwin, William Archer Rutherfoord, 1869-1939 1
Graham family 1
Graham, Elizabeth 1
Graham, Thomas 1
Grayson, Cary T. (Cary Travers), 1878-1938 1
Hankins General Store 1
Hardy, John M. 1
Hooe, John 1
Hotchkiss, Jedediah, 1828-1899 1
Ives family 1
Ives, Albert 1
Ives, Dora 1
Ives, S.S. 1
Kerlin Family 1
Lee, James 1
Lee, Philip Ludwell 1
Ludwell Paradise, Lucy 1
Macon, William, 1725-1813 1
Mayer family 1
McCann family 1
Moore Family 1
Morpurgo, Jack Eric 1
Moss, Samuel, Jr 1
Myers, Barton, 1853-1927 1
Myers, Moses, 1752-1835 1
National Center for State Courts 1
Newburn, Edward B 1
Nicolson, James Monroe 1
Peninsula Bank (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Pleasants, Robert 1
Randolph, Thomas Mann, 1792-1848 1
Rivers, William E. 1
Rowzee family 1
Salvation Army. 1
Slater, Virginia Helena Lee 1
Smith family 1
Sons of Temperance of North America 1
St. Joseph & Grand Island Railway 1
Taliaferro family 1
Teter, W. L. 1
The College of William & Mary Foundation (2006-) 1
Union Pacific Railway Company 1
Union Pacific Railway, St. Joseph and Western Railroad Division 1
Verkuil, Paul R 1
Vice President for Business Affairs 1
Virginia. General Court 1
Wedgewood Playhouse (Toano, Va.) 1
Wissler family 1
Woman's Christian Temperance Union (Ft. Smith, Arkansas) 1
Woman's National Christian Temperance Union 1
Yates, Robert 1
Yeatman, H.  & Co. 1
+ ∧ less